Search
  • Elly Gilbert

Audrey reviews Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley


Henry and Rachel have been friends for ten years, but when Rachel moved to Sea Ridge, their friendship weakened. Rachel lost her brother, Cal, along with her old self. Henry found out that his girlfriend doesn’t actually love him. When Rachel moves back to Gracetown and starts to work at Henry’s family’s bookshop, Howling Books, they try to rekindle the flame of their friendship but end up finding something more.  Along with the main story of Rachel and Henry in Words in Deep Blue, there were the side stories of George and Cal, George and Martin, and Amy and Henry, which all fit in perfectly with the main story, and didn’t distract from Henry and Rachel. Because much of the story takes place in the bookstore, the author, Cath Crowley, was able to tell the some of the side stories in a unique format. George and Cal got to know each other through letters in the Letter Library, a place where anyone could leave notes in books for other people to read. George and Martin became friends through the letters as well. Amy and Henry\’s relationship was the obstacle that Henry helped to realize that he was meant to be with Rachel. The author\’s use of the Letter Library created a format that gave the story an interesting twist. Through the letters, we got to know the characters better than we would have without them. Whether they were letters left by the characters in the book or by random readers, they gave us an inside look into what people think about while they read.  Words in Deep Blue was much like a journey. A journey from grief and tragedy. A journey to find old friendship. A journey to find love. Rachel was overcome by grief from the death of her brother, Cal, and Henry has just found out that the “love of this life” didn’t actually love him. This book dealt with the subjects of grief, love, and friendship so well, that it was like you were living along with Henry and Rachel as they were experiencing them. I recommend this book for fans of Rainbow Rowell and John Green. Anyone who likes books about people who enjoy reading, or geeky characters, would find this book relevant and meaningful. People who are grieving might find this book comforting as well. I gave Words in Deep Blue a five-star rating because it’s funny, interesting, and thought-provoking.

#BookReview

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Elly Gilbert

READER & WRITER OF HAPPILY EVER AFTERS